Monday, June 9, 2014

The American Presidents: Thomas Jefferson

The following is from a work-in-progress called "The American Presidents: a Coloring Book."

Thomas Jefferson (1743 – 1826) was the third President of the United States (1801–1809), and was the principal author of the Declaration of Independence (1776).  Living on his 5,000-acre plantation in Virginia, he owned hundreds of slaves, and fathered at least one child by his slave Sally Hemings.  At the beginning of the American Revolution, he served in the Continental Congress, representing Virginia.  As president, he oversaw acquisition of the vast Louisiana Territory from France (1803), and sent the Lewis and Clark Expedition (1804–1806) to explore the new west.  In 1803, he initiated a process of Indian tribal removal to the Louisiana Territory west of the Mississippi River. In 1807 Jefferson drafted and signed into law a bill that banned slave importation into the United States.  His political party was Democratic-Republican.

No comments:

Post a Comment